On Apr 3, 2015, at 12:39 PM, Howard Kastner wrote:
I have a diesel car and I usually prefer to fill it with a biodiesel blend that contains soy because I believe it better for the environment.
Following our discussion earlier this week that we are not permitted to gain any benefit from chametz during Pesach, can I drive my car with biodiesel during Pesach, or must I use regular diesel?
Similarly, during Pesach, would someone driving a regular gas car not be permitted to use gasoline with ethanol because it’s made from corn?
Biodiesel is made exclusively from kitniyot, such as soy or corn. My understanding is that biodesel from one of the 5 grains (wheat, barley, spelt, rye, or oats) is not economically viable in the industry.
DERIVATIVE products of kitniyot, used for NON_FOOD purposes, are competely PERMITTED on Pesach. Ethanol fuel is another excellent catergory of a permitted product.
P Please consider the environment before printing this email.